Custom Search 1

All systems go for Women’s T20

WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS: Windies Women enjoy their magic moment in 2016

IT WOULD appear to be all systems go for next year’s Women’s World Twenty20 tournament.

The Barbados Nation has reported that a team from the International Cricket Council (ICC) has concluded its tour of the Caribbean after inspecting facilities at 11 international match venues in eight countries for next year’s big event, which will take place from November 2 - 25.

The venue inspection team, which included representatives of event operations, broadcast and media, also met with the officials of Cricket West Indies (CWI) in Antigua to discuss event objectives and targets.

The CWI management will now recommend the venues to its board of directors before submitting the venues to the ICC Board for ratification.

“On behalf of the inspection team, I thank all the venues for not only their warm and friendly welcome, but also assisting us with a 360-degree inspection of the venues,” said ICC’s senior event operations manager, Simon Jelowitz.

“With the event now less than 12 months away, we have a very good understanding of how the venues operate, and what needs to be done to deliver an international event with a uniquely Caribbean flavour with the support of the CWI and the venues.

GIFTED: Matthews

The ICC venue inspection team visited Sabina Park in Jamaica, National Cricket Stadium in Grenada, Queen’s Park Oval and Brian Lara Cricket Ground in Trinidad, National Cricket Stadium in Guyana, Three Ws Oval and Kensington Oval in Barbados, Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St Lucia, Warner Park in St Kitts, and Vivian Richards Cricket Ground and Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua.

The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018 will feature 10 teams, including Windies Women defending the title they won so sensationally last year in India under the leadership of Stafanie Taylor. Key to them retaining their crown will be form of batter Hayley Matthews and the team playing as a unit once more.

Other sides taking part will be: Australia, World 50-overs champions England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka, all of whom have qualified directly.

The remaining two sides will emerge from a qualifying tournament to be staged next June in the Netherlands.

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.

Facebook Comments