Custom Search 1

Facebook tighten picture security

FACEBOOK HAS announced that they will no longer allow people to "tag" photographs of friends with their names without permission. 

The "tagging" tool, that allows users to add somebody else's profile to a picture so they are identified in the photograph, will now have to be pre-approved by the individual before they become attached to the image. Also, from today (Aug 24) the "pre-approval option" will be applicable to written posts that tag other users. 

Last night (Aug 23) Kate O’Neill, product manager for  Facebook reportedly said the change was made in response to a number of user requests. 

The new settings also comes in a series of other privacy alterations that have been made on the social networking site, such as the new feature "view profile as", which allows users to see how others view their pages. 

 Ms O’Neill told the Metro: "We are making it easier for people to share what they want, every time they post."

Subscribe to The Voice database!

We'd like to keep in touch with you regarding our daily newsletter, Voice competitions, promotions and marketing material and to further increase our reach with The Voice readers.

If interested, please click the below button to complete the subscription form.

We will never sell your data and will keep it safe and secure.

For further details visit our privacy policy.

You have the right to withdraw at any time, by clicking 'Unsubscribe'.

Facebook Comments