Custom Search 1

A night out at the Premier Gospel Awards

ON SONG: Volney Morgan and Ne Ye on stage collecting their award

THE HOUSE on the Rock church was a fitting venue for the second annual Premier Gospel Awards, a key event in the UK gospel calendar.

A capacity crowd was present in the 900-seater church, and it comprised music fans alongside the movers and shakers of the UK gospel scene, plus Premier Gospel presenters.

Tolu Adepegba, otherwise known as Lady T, hosted the night alongside a group of guys known as The Compozers, Christians whose production credits include some of the world’s top artists.

The audience was treated to some inspiring performances and speeches throughout the awards.The choir of the moment, Volney Morgan and New-Ye, opened with a lively rendition of their signature song After All.

That was followed by the first awards presentation of the night, Best Female Gospel Act which went to Lurine Cato for the second year running.

Other winners during the evening included a very surprised Leke, whose single Unstoppable won the Premier Gospel Award for Best Song, his first ever award. Purist Ogboi, wife of MOBO award winner Evans, won the award for Best Newcomer. She also performed and Volney Morgan and New- Ye won Best Choir of the Year for a second year in a row. This time, however, when he went to collect the award, he had his choir, wife and young son in tow.

The Jordan Family, a popular gospel group from back in the day, were among the performers, as were MOBO award-winners G Force, who reformed specially to perform at the Premier Gospel Awards.

In a special finale, the audience were treated to various gospel music styles. Andrew Bello performed some African Gospel, Marky T, St Andrew and Nadine Marshall performed a special gospel Caribbean medley and the Reapers Choir finished off the night on a high note singing gospel classics Shackles with leads performed by Rachel Kerr and Becca Folkes and Revolution.

The Premier Gospel Awards was a night to remember, and served as a reminder that UK gospel is on the move in a positive direction.

The big winners:

Best Album: Sarah Teibo

Best Male: Noel Robinson

Best Female: Lurine Cato

Best Song: Leke – Unstoppable

Best Group: Zoe Grace

Choir Of The Year: Volney Morgan and New-Ye

Best Newcomer: Purist Ogboi

Best International: Travis Greene

Best Video: Bobby Bovell

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.

Facebook Comments