Custom Search 1

Prolific Springbok wins Try of the Year award


SOUTH AFRICA winger Bryan Habana’s virtuoso effort against New Zealand in September was named the International Rugby Players' Association's (IRPA) Try of the Year.

The Springbok speedster’s try was voted for by rugby fans from around the world and was named ahead of France’s Julien Malzieu and New Zealand’s Hosea Gear and Julian Savea, who all scored stellar tries in 2012.

Habana, who is South Africa’s all-time leading try scorer with 47 and was named the 2012 Player of the Year by the South Africa Rugby Union, said: "Scoring a try against the All Blacks is always special, but scoring against them in New Zealand, is even more special.

"I really enjoyed getting across the try-line in Dunedin - contributing to the success of the team and also lifting the spirits of my team-mates."

The 29-year-old added: "Winning this Award is very special and hopefully I can continue scoring tries for the Springboks for a very long time."

Annual subscription for The Voice newspaper print edition.

Read more stories like this in our weekly printed newspaper. To purchase an annual subscription, complete the form below and enter the code 'ONLINE2017.

* indicates required
() - (###) ###-####
Facebook Comments