Custom Search 1

Samba Boys are coming to London 2012


BRAZIL HAS named their squad for the London 2012 Olympic Games football tournament.

The five-time World Cup winners have included forwards Hulk, Neymar and Alexandre Pato in their 18-man side.

The trio scored a combined total of 32 goals last season for their clubs.

Brazil will compete in Group C, which includes Egypt, Belarus and New Zealand.

Prior to the Olympic football competition beginning, Brazil will face Team GB in a friendly at the Riverside Stadium on July 20.

The South American country have competed in 11 Olympic Games but have surprisingly never won gold.

The closest to have come to victory was taking silver in 1984 and 1988 and bronze in 1996 and 2008.

The full Brazil squad is listed below: Goalkeepers: Rafael Cabral (Santos), Neto (Fiorentina)

Defenders: Marcelo (Real Madrid), Rafael (Manchester United), Danilo (Porto), Alex Sandro (Porto), Thiago Silva (AC Milan), Juan (Inter Milan), Bruno Uvini (Sao Paulo)

Midfielders: Romulo (Vasco da Gama), Ganso (Santos), Oscar (Internacional), Sandro (Tottenham Hotspur), Lucas (Sao Paulo)

Forwards: Neymar (Santos), Alexandre Pato (AC Milan), Leandro Damiao (Internacional), Hulk (Porto).

Replacements: Marquinhos (Corinthians), Giuliano (Dniepr/UKR), Cassemiro (Sao Paulo), Gabriel (AC Milan/ITA)

Annual subscription for The Voice newspaper print edition.

Read more stories like this in our weekly printed newspaper. To purchase an annual subscription, complete the form below and enter the code 'ONLINE2017.

* indicates required
() - (###) ###-####
Facebook Comments