Custom Search 1

Alesha Dixon, Diane Abbott nominated for Diversity Awards

NOMINEE: Alesha Dixon

THE SHORTLIST for inaugural Diversity In Media Award was announced yesterday (Thursday 22 June) with some top BAME figures in the running.

The awards celebrate public figures and organisations who work to ensure all strands of the media reflect the diversity of British society.

Nominees include Britain’s Got Talent judge Alesha Dixon, Shadow Home Secretary Diane Abbott and TV presenter Reggie Yates.

Alesha Dixon and Diane Abbott are both shortlisted for the Icon of the Year Award. The Labour MP played a leading role in Labour’s recent General Election campaign.

Mayor of London Sadiq Khan and former footballer Rio Ferdinand are amongst the other BAME names to be nominated.

Award organisers have given nods to TV programmes including This Morning, Loose Women, The Undateables and BBC series Gay Britannia - all nominated for their efforts to showcase diverse communities.

Diane Abbott

The Diversity In Media Awards is backed GLAAD, the international media monitoring organization. The ceremony will be hosted by BBC newsreader Jane Hill in London on 15 September.

Awards founder Colin Campbell-Austin said: “The Diversity in Media Awards shine a light on individuals and organisations whose work has pushed the representation of minority groups in the media. All of those shortlisted are very deserving.”

See the full list of nominees below:

Broadcaster of the Year
Channel 4
London Live
Made in Tyne and Wear

Production Company of the Year
Big Talk
Lime Pictures
Sugar Films
Tiger Aspect

Media Organisation of the Year
Creative Equals
Ethnic Media Sales
Grey London
James Grant
Roar Global
Simon Jones PR

Marketing Campaign of the Year
Black Lives Matter
Harvey Bertram-Brown
Lloyds Banking - He said yes
Mars UK
Pride in London
Project Embrace
Smirnoff - Digital Pride
The National Autistic Society

Journalist of the Year
Ben Henry
Caitlin Moran
Emma Barnett
Matthew Cain
Nesrine Malik
Nikki Fox
Paris Lees
Saira Khan

Blogger/Podcaster of the Year
Doug Armstrong
Chrissie Wunna
Gemma Turner
Mary-Loiuse Chandler
N.C for Brown Men
Rhianna Dhillon
Scott Bryan - Buzzfeed
What Wegan Did Next


TV Programme of the Year
Britain’s got Talent
Chronicles of Nadyia
Gay Britannia, BBC
Muslims Like Us
The A Word
The Last Leg
The Undateables

Rising Star of the Year
Aaron Carty
Craig Dillon
Jake Graf
Layton Williams
Liv Little
Ollie Locke
Victoria Broom
Yomi Adegoke

Media Moment of the Year
Behind Closed Doors
Black Mirror
Line of Duty
Loose Women
Rio Ferdinand
Dr Who
This Morning
The Voice UK

Rio Ferdinand

Hero of the Year
Ariana Grande
Fox Fisher
Gary Lineker
Ian McKellen
Lily Allen
Ruth Davidson
Sadiq Khan

Presenter of the Year
Ade Adepitan MBE
Fiona Stalker
Graham Norton
Jamal Edwards
Jasmine Dotiwala
Mary Portas
Reggie Yates
Stacey Dooley

Reggie Yates

Radio Station / Programme of the Year
Back Row & Chill
Badass Women’s Hour
BBC Somerset
BBC Women’s Hour
Resonance FM (community programmes)
Warren Tone

Diversity Champion of the Year
Guy Black
Jon Miler
Karen Blackett
Lord Alli
Philip O'Ferrall
Sarah Geater
Toby Mildon
Vivienne Francis

Thandie Newton

Actor of the Year
Chiwetel Ejiofor
Daniel Brocklebank
Denise Welch
Glynis Barber
Keiron Richardson
Liz Carr
Russell Tovey
Thandie Newton

Icon of the Year
Alan Carr
Alesha Dixon
Diane Abbott MP
Edward Enniful OBE
Gok Wan
Helen Mirren
Idris Elba
Will Young

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.

Facebook Comments