Custom Search 1

Caribbean bowled over by cricket league

PARTY TIME: The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is just days away from hitting the eight host Caribbean islands

IT’S BEEN described as the ‘biggest party in sport’ and it’s only days away from hitting the eight host Caribbean islands of Grenada, Barbados and Trinidad, to name a few, and this year's Caribbean Premier League (CPL) promises to be better than ever.

The CPL is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament that combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere.

Tickets for the tournament, which started in Grenada on July 11, can be purchased via and, while tickets will also be available to fans at stadium box offices and Digicel outlets in all eight host countries.

Hip-hop star Rick Ross will headline at concert to close the tournament in St Kitts and Nevis, while global cricketing stars Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Swayne Bravo, Ross Taylor, Saeed Ajmal and Kieron Pollard will take part in an all-star charity match to bring festivities to a show-stopping end.


Damien O’Donohoe, CEO of Limacol Caribbean Premier League, said: “We’re looking forward to seeing packed stadiums once again across the Caribbean. The great value of tickets for every match, and the world class stars on show, will ensure we’ll see bigger and more exciting crowds than ever before, guaranteeing we live up to our reputation as the biggest party in sport.”

The CPL, which trilled sell-out crowds across the Caribbean in 2013, is once again looking to excite fans with high intensity T20 cricket and an even bigger and better tournament this year.

Grenada, known for its vibrant culture and hospitality, will serve as the opening venue on July when the Guyana Amazon Warriors will take on the Antigua Hawksbills at the National Cricket Stadium.

The inaugural 2013 tournament featured six teams competing throughout the region, comprised of the Jamaica Tallawahs, The Red Steel, Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Lucia Zouks, Antigua Hawksbills. The Jamaica Tallawahs, captained by Chris Gayle, emerged as the champions.

The CPL will take place from July 11 to August 16, 2014.


Subscribe to The Voice database!

We'd like to keep in touch with you regarding our daily newsletter, Voice competitions, promotions and marketing material and to further increase our reach with The Voice readers.

If interested, please click the below button to complete the subscription form.

We will never sell your data and will keep it safe and secure.

For further details visit our privacy policy.

You have the right to withdraw at any time, by clicking 'Unsubscribe'.

Facebook Comments