Custom Search 1

Dionne Warwick & Donny Hathaway to receive honorary awards

HONOURED: Dionne Warwick

DIONNE WARWICK, Donny Hathaway and George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic are among those being honored with a Lifetime Achievement Awards at the Recording Academy’s annual Special Merit Awards.

The Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates performers “who have made outstanding contributions of artistic significance to the field of recording, while the Trustees Award honors such contributions in areas other than performance”.

Of this year’s honourees, Recording Academy president and CEO Neil Portnow said: "Each year, the Recording Academy has the distinct privilege of celebrating music industry giants who have greatly contributed to our cultural heritage.

"This year, we have a gifted and brilliant group of honorees and their exceptional accomplishments, contributions, and artistry will continue to influence and inspire generations to come."

Other musical acts receiving awards include heavy-metal legends Black Sabbath, Spanish singer Julio Iglesias and late jazz singer and bandleader Billy Eckstine.

They will all be celebrated at a ceremony and tribute concert in Los Angeles on May 11.

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.

Facebook Comments