Custom Search 1

Kelly criticises BBC Sports Personality of the Year

AWARD WINNER: Holmes poses the BBC Sports Personality of the Year that she won in 2004

DAME KELLY Holmes has hit out at this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year shortlist.

There are no female nominees in the top ten and Holmes, who won the award seven years ago after her two gold medals in the 800m and 1500m at the 2004 Athens Olympic Games, vented her frustrations on Twitter, writing:

“You know I’m a massive fan being a past winner BUT you have got it wrong this year. Where are the women?? Come on guys, it’s 2011.”

The shortlist was put together by a panel of 27 sports editors and this is the first time since the voting system changed in 2006 that there have been no female nominees.

DOUBLE DELIGHT: The former middle distance runner displays her Olympic gold medals

Holmes revealed that she thought the omission was due to poor coverage of women’s sport, stating: “Problem is lack of coverage for women STILL. Women been fab- bad coverage! When we have 3 women world champs I think that is merit!!”

The three female world champions she refers to are swimmer Rebecca Adlington, who won the world 800m freestyle gold in July, Keri-Anne Payne who reclaimed the 10km open water gold medal and ironman triathlon world champion Chrissie Wellington.

Holmes continued to tweet about the issue this afternoon and she recently pointed to cricket captain Charlotte Edwards, who led England to victory in the One Day International (ODI) quadrangular series against Australia, New Zealand and India over the summer. The men’s ODI captain, Alistair Cook, was included on the list for his contribution to England’s Ashes win, in which he scored the second highest ever number of runs in a Test series by an Englishman, and England becoming the best Test side in the world after defeating India.

The 58th Sports Personality of the Year ceremony will held at MediaCityUK, the new home of the BBC in Salford, on Thursday, December 22 and the winner will be decided by public vote.

The full list of contenders (in alphabetical order) are:
Mark Cavendish (cycling)
Darren Clarke (golf)
Alastair Cook (cricket)
Luke Donald (golf)
Mo Farah (athletics)
Dai Greene (athletics)
Amir Khan (boxing)
Rory McIlroy (golf)
Andy Murray (tennis)
Andrew Strauss (cricket)

Subscribe to The Voice database!

We'd like to keep in touch with you regarding our daily newsletter, Voice competitions, promotions and marketing material and to further increase our reach with The Voice readers.

If interested, please click the below button to complete the subscription form.

We will never sell your data and will keep it safe and secure.

For further details visit our privacy policy.

You have the right to withdraw at any time, by clicking 'Unsubscribe'.

Facebook Comments