Custom Search 1

Lewis Hamilton among winners at the 2017 Autosport Awards

WINNER: Lewis Hamilton

LEWIS HAMILTON, Nelson Piquet, Sebastien Ogier, Marc Márquez, Charles Leclerc and Derek Warwick were among the big winners in Sunday night’s Autosport Awards.

Held on December 2 the week after the last F1 Grand Prix of the year, the Autosport Awards brings the season to a close, celebrating and recognising outstanding achievement across the racing world.

Often referred to as ‘the biggest night in motorsport’, the 2017 Awards proved to be an international star-studded and glamorous occasion with guests including Damon Hill, Robert Kubica, Freddie Spencer, Gil de Ferran, John McGuiness, Chase Carey, Susie Wolff and the most successful sailor in Olympic history, Sir Ben Ainslie.

For the first time, the Awards were presented by Lee McKenzie and David Coulthard and covered 14 categories spanning club racing to World Rally Championship, MotoGP and Formula 1, the majority of categories voted by fans.

Lewis Hamilton received two accolades for both the International Racing Driver of the Year and the British Competition Driver of the Year. Hamilton won his fourth F1 World Championship this season, surpassing his idol, and previous Autosport Award winner, Ayrton Senna’s record of 65 career pole positions in the process.

Hamilton, who first attended the Awards at 10 years old, thanked Autosport and the motorsport fans who voted for him to win both awards. “It’s been a long, long journey. I remember being at the Autosport [Awards] in 1995 for the first time ... it’s great to see that it's still doing wonderful things and still reporting great news to the world," he said.

"I just wanted to congratulate all the nominees and all the other winners that are there this evening. Congratulations on your years. I hope you have an amazing Christmas coming up and I wish you all the best for 2018.

"Let’s keep raising the bar. Let’s keep pushing. It’s great to see England producing such great talent still.”

Three-time F1 World Champion Nelson Piquet was honoured with the Gregor Grant Award for Lifetime Achievement in Motorsport.

Nelson, said: “Firstly I would like to say thanks to Autosport for bringing me here after many years and also I want to thank all the racing teams that gave me the chance to drive. Most importantly, I want to say thank you to those who worked with me for many years."

Derek Warwick, who stepped down as President of the British Racing Drivers' Club this year, also received the Gregor Grant Award, joining previous winners including Mario Andretti, Dale Earnhardt Sr., Sir Jackie Stewart, Sir Stirling Moss, Alain Prost and Emerson Fittipaldi.

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.

Facebook Comments