Custom Search 1

Mercury Prize: Dave, NAO and Little Simz among the nominees


RAPPERS DAVE, Little Simz and singer NAO are among the 12 names shortlisted for this year’s Mercury Prize.

Streatham-born Dave was nominated for his critically-acclaimed album Psychodrama, which gained the highest number of first-week streams for a British rap album in history.

North London rapper Little Simz’s third album Grey Area also made the list, alongside east Londoner Nao’s album Saturn.

PICTURED: Little Simz

Of the shortlist, Nao said: “I’m over the moon. The prize celebrates original artists and focuses on the music quality, recognising artists all at different stages of their careers.

“To be nominated for an award won by many artists I admire is an honour.” South London’s experimental rock band Black Midi was also nominated for Schlagenheim. Driftglass, by Seed Ensemble, which features a song dedicated to the lives lost in the Grenfell fire, completes the London line-up.

The Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ celebrate and promote the best of British and Irish music recognising artistic achievement across a range of contemporary music genres.

The shortlist was chosen by an independent judging panel and was revealed at a Launch event, hosted by BBC Music’s Huw Stephens on Thursday (Jul 25).

The winner of the prestigious prize will be announced at the 2019 awards show, will take place on Thursday 19 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

See the full shortlist for the 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ below:

Anna Calvi ‘Hunter’
Black Midi ‘Schlagenheim’
Cate Le Bon ‘Reward’
Dave ‘Psychodrama’
Foals ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1’
Fontaines D.C. ‘Dogrel’
IDLES ‘Joy as an Act of Resistance’
Little Simz ‘Grey Area’
NAO ‘Saturn’
SEED Ensemble ‘Driftglass’
slowthai ‘Nothing Great About Britain’
The 1975 ‘A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships’

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.

Facebook Comments