Custom Search 1

More honours for mighty Mo

PROUD: Darren Clarke, Mark Cavendish (centre) and Mo Farah (right) at last night's awards ceremony

LONG DISTANCE runner Mo Farah came third in the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards held in Salford last night. Farah won the world 5,000m gold and claimed the silver in the 10,000m at the same meeting in August.

World road race champion and Tour de France green jersey winner Mark Cavendish was adjudged BBC Sports Personality of the Year while Golfer Darren Clarke, who triumphed at the Open, was second.

Cavendish, 26, is only the third cyclist to win after Tommy Simpson in 1965 and Sir Chris Hoy in 2008. Cavendish won five stages of this year's Tour de France - including the final time trial in Paris - to clinch the green jersey awarded to the race's best sprinter for the first time.

A proud Cavendish said: "I am absolutely speechless. Just to be nominated was an incredible feeling."

In the night's other awards England's cricket team were named Team of the Year, with their coach Andy Flower winnning the Coach of the Year gong.

World number one tennis player Novak Djokovic, winner of three of the year's four Grand Slams, won the Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, while teenage golfer Lauren Taylor scooped the Young Sports Personality award.

Former rower Sir Steve Redgrave won the Lifetime Achievement award while Bob Champion was handed the Helen Rollason Award.

Subscribe to The Voice database!

We'd like to keep in touch with you regarding our daily newsletter, Voice competitions, promotions and marketing material and to further increase our reach with The Voice readers.

If interested, please click the below button to complete the subscription form.

We will never sell your data and will keep it safe and secure.

For further details visit our privacy policy.

You have the right to withdraw at any time, by clicking 'Unsubscribe'.

Facebook Comments