Custom Search 1

Stars gather for AGMA Awards

LOOKING DAPPER: Leading gospel quartet Four Korners arrive at the AGMAs

OVER A thousand people packed into the Golders Green Hippodrome for the 3rd annual African Gospel Music Awards.

Amongst the leading UK gospel stars at the event were: Lyrical Soldier, Four Korners and Faithchild, Premier Gospel presenter Dave P and Nage, African footballer Sonnie Aluku, and church leaders.

After walking a red carpet, celebrities and members of the audience settled down for an entertaining evening, which was kicked off by Kelechi and Allen Caiquo singing songs of praise and adoration.

It set the tone for the night and was followed by explosive performances by artistes that included Gospel Jazz guitarist Lekan Shobiyi, Atta Boafo, Taymee Tee, Iyobo, Faith Child, Guvna B and BNG and Four Kornerz.

Kenya’s leading gospel artiste Emmy Kosgei, who won a gong in the Song of the Year category, was the headline act during a show that celebrated the breadth and depth of African gospel music.

Awards were given in 25 categories. Amongst the winners were: Nigerian saxophonist Mike Aremu, Rebecca, Sonnie Badu and Muyiwa.

Charles Korentang, one of the organisers, proclaimed this year’s awards a success. He told Soul Stirrings, “The Africa Gospel Awards 2012 was bigger and better, attended by people across the world and is now part of the gospel calendar. This year event was transmitted live to audiences in the US and Africa and our prayer is that the event continues to grow, and reflect the great gospel music produced by the African community.”

Here is a list of some of the award winners:

Event of the Year Sponsored By Eagle Entertainment - Joyous Celebration 16 Live Recording (South Africa)

Radio Program of the Year Sponsored By London Christian Radio - Indumiso- Ukozi FM (South Africa)

Radio Presenter of the Year Sponsored By Voice of Africa Radio - Anthony Ndiema (Kenya) & Fiifi Folson (Ghana)

TV Channel/ Program of the Year Sponsored By Faith TV - One Gospel (South Africa)

TV Presenter of the Year Sponsored by OHTV - Shoggy Tosh (UK)

Music Producer of the Year - Wole Oni (Nigeria) & Billy Frank (Kenya)

Group/Choir of the Year Sponsored by Pleroma Magazine - Simply Chrysolite (South Africa)

Video of the Year - God Dey Bless Me - Cwesi Oteng (Ghana)

Song of the Year Sponsored by Lyca Mobile - Ololo – Emmy Kosgei (Kenya)

Album of the Year sponsored by Premier Gospel - Colours of Africa- Sonnie Badu (UK)

Female Artiste of the Year - Lara George (Nigeria)

Male Artiste of the Year - Solly Mahlangu (South Africa)

Agma Trailblazer Award Sammie Okposo (Nigeria) Sonnie Badu (UK) Muyiwa Olarewaju (UK)

Lifetime Achievement Award Rev. Benjamin Dube (South Africa)

Subscribe to The Voice database!

We'd like to keep in touch with you regarding our daily newsletter, Voice competitions, promotions and marketing material and to further increase our reach with The Voice readers.

If interested, please click the below button to complete the subscription form.

We will never sell your data and will keep it safe and secure.

For further details visit our privacy policy.

You have the right to withdraw at any time, by clicking 'Unsubscribe'.

Facebook Comments