British Athletics Name Team For Indoor Championship

Muir, Phillip and Pozzi plus more to defend their titles

BACK AT IT: Asha Phillip

BRITISH ATHLETICS have named a record equalling number of 48 athletes for the European Indoor Championships on home soil in Glasgow from March 1-3.

Double European indoor champion Laura Muir, Asha Philip and Andrew Pozzi all return to defend their titles from the last edition in Belgrade in 2017.

Holly Bradshaw and Katarina Johnson-Thompson are both also European indoor gold medallists, from Gothenburg in 2013 and Prague in 2015, and their selection completes a list of five European indoor champions selected, the most ever for Great Britain & Northern Ireland at a single edition of the event.

Two other medallists from Belgrade in 2017 are included in the team, Eilish McColgan and Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, the latter among 18 to have been crowned a British champion on the road to Glasgow.

There will be a record number of nine Scottish athletes selected on the British team including the nation’s most decorated track and field athlete Eilidh Doyle and European indoor 1500m bronze medallist Chris O’Hare, who is making the step up to 3000m.

For the second successive major championships there are more women (26) than men (22) selected while there are ten athletes set to make their major senior international debut. Joe Reid is one of those and is also the first ever athlete from the Isle of Man to represent Great Britain & Northern Ireland at a major international championships.

Kristal Awuah is another senior newcomer and one of three to make the step up having competed at the IAAF World Junior Championships in Finland last year. Amber Anning who won British silver in the 400m, is the youngest member of the team having turned 18 in November.

British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black said: “We are delighted to have selected our biggest and strongest ever team for the European Indoor Championships in Glasgow, which is yet another major international championships for us on home soil.”

He added: “It is fantastic to have our biggest ever contingent of Scottish athletes for a major championships in their backyard and we look forward to watching every single member of the team thrive in front of a home crowd. Glasgow is the last major championships before the IAAF World Championships in Doha later in the year and we expect to be extremely competitive.”

The British team selected for the European Indoor Championships Glasgow 2019:

Ojie Edoburun

Cameron Chalmers
Alex Haydock-Wilson
Owen Smith

Guy Learmonth
Joe Reid
Jamie Webb

Robbie Fitzgibbon
Elliot Giles Neil Gourley

Andrew Butchart
Charlie Grice
Chris O’Hare

60m Hurdles
David King
Andrew Pozzi

High Jump
Chris Baker

Long Jump
Feron Sayers

Triple Jump
Nathan Douglas
Julian Reid

4x400m Relay
Joe Brier
Cameron Chalmers Alex Haydock-Wilson
Thomas Somers

Tim Duckworth

Kristal Awuah
Rachel Miller
Asha Philip

Amber Anning
Zoey Clark
Eilidh Doyle

Shelayna Oskan-Clarke
Mari Smith
Adelle Tracey

Sarah McDonald
Laura Muir
Jemma Reekie

Melissa Courtney
Eilish McColgan
Laura Muir

High Jump
Morgan Lake Pole Vault
Holly Bradshaw

Long Jump
Abigail Irozuru
Jazmin Sawyers
Jahisha Thomas

Triple Jump
Naomi Ogbeta

Shot Put
Sophie McKinna
Amelia Strickler

4x400m Relay
Amber Anning
Zoe Clark
Eilidh Doyle
Phillipa Lowe
Laviai Nielsen
Katarina Johnson-Thompson

Comments Form

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Support The Voice

The Voice Newspaper is committed to celebrating black excellence, campaigning for positive change and informing the black community on important issues. Your financial contributions are essential to protect the future of the publication as we strive to help raise the profile of the black communities across the UK. Any size donation is welcome and we thank you for your continued support.

Support Sign-up